Here’s When Maine’s Hands Free While Driving Law Goes Into Effect
The state of Maine is finally cracking down on people who use their phones behind the wheel.
According to WMTW, Governor Janet Mills just signed a bill into law that will band handheld cell phone use while driving. You'll still be able to use your phone in hands free mode, but if you're holding your phone and using it, you could face consequences.
Violators could face a fine of at least $50, the news station reported, and repeated offenses could mean an even stiffer fine of $250.
Maine isn't the first state to pass a law like this. In fact, 16 states and Washington, D.C., ban the use of handheld cellphones by drivers, WMUR reported.
The new law will go into effect this September, according to the news station.
So if you haven't already smartened up and stopped playing with your phone while you're driving, you might as well practice doing so now. Distracted driving accidents kill thousands of people each year, and hopefully this law will help cut down the number of victims here in Maine.
For the full story from WMTW, click here.