South Portland's Charlie Furbush is the Seattle Mariners choice for the prestigious Roberto Clemente Award.

Furbush is a lefty reliever with a 1-1 record, 2.98 ERA in 33 games. He's on the DL now with shoulder issues.

He has been the host for the Mariners Care Cystic Fibrosis Golf Tournament that has raised over $400,000 for research.

Furbush played one year at St. Joseph's College in Standish before transferring to LSU. He was drafted by the Detroit Tigers.

The Clemente Award winner is announced during the World Series. Clemente is a Hall of Famer who died in a plane crash in 1972. The plane was delivering relief supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua. Here is more on the award...

The Roberto Clemente Award is given annually to the Major League Baseball (MLB) player who "best exemplifies the game of baseball, sportsmanship, community involvement and the individual's contribution to his team", as voted on by baseball fans and members of the media.


Arizona Diamondbacks – Paul Goldschmidt

Atlanta Braves – Jason Grilli

Baltimore Orioles – Brian Matusz

Boston Red Sox – Brock Holt

Chicago Cubs – Anthony Rizzo

Chicago White Sox – David Robertson

Cincinnati Reds – J.J. Hoover

Cleveland Indians – Carlos Carrasco

Colorado Rockies – Kyle Kendrick

Detroit Tigers – Miguel Cabrera

Houston Astros – George Springer

Kansas City Royals – Alex Gordon

Los Angeles Angels – Hector Santiago

Los Angeles Dodgers – Adrian Gonzalez

Miami Marlins – Dee Gordon

Milwaukee Brewers – Jonathan Lucroy

Minnesota Twins – Torii Hunter

New York Mets – Curtis Granderson

New York Yankees – Mark Teixeira

Oakland Athletics – Stephen Vogt

Philadelphia Phillies – Ryan Howard

Pittsburgh Pirates – Andrew McCutchen

St. Louis Cardinals – Adam Wainwright

San Diego Padres – Andrew Cashner

San Francisco Giants – Javier Lopez

Seattle Mariners – Charlie Furbush

Tampa Bay Rays – Chris Archer

Texas Rangers – Adrian Beltre

Toronto Blue Jays – Jose Bautista

Washington Nationals – Denard Span